Yash Bharti is Uttar Pradesh’s highest state conferred award and is given to the people from the state, who bring laurels to their hometown. Uttar Pradesh’s Chief Minister, Akhilesh Yadav, describes them as “Ambassadors of the State”. This ritual was started by Hon. Mulayam Singh in the year 1994, when he was the CM of the state.

To continue this tradition further, Akhilesh Yadav, decided to felicitate the Yash Bharti awardees with a monthly pension of Rs. 50,000 each. This particular step will be a constant gratitude of the state government towards these eminent personalities and also an encouragement to the youth of Uttar Pradesh.

“Several award winners have earned fame in the world, but are an unknown entity in their home State,” the People’s CM observed, adding that he was filled with a sense of pride to confer the prestigious award on them. The Yash Bharti award is presented to personalities excelling in the fields of art, sports, culture, medicine, literature, social service, journalism, folk, and classical music.

Classical singer Shubha Mudgal, Bollywood playback singers Rekha Bhardwaj and Kailash Kher, journalist Vinod Mehta, theatre artists Urmil Kumar Thapiyal, poet Khushbir Singh ‘Shaad’, kathak exponent Kum Kum Dhar, as well as actors Jimmy Shergill and Nawazuddin Siddiqui were among 56 achievers who won the Yash Bharti award in 2015.

Akhilesh Yadav lauded the efforts of the winners and called them a “source of inspiration” for the future generations.